Oxygen Therapy & Critical Care

Clinical ECHO Series

Increasing the capacity of local healthcare providers and strengthening healthcare systems worldwide.

Why It Matters.

This program is about improving the preparedness of healthcare workers to save lives and provide effective care to patients in need.

 At the onset of the pandemic, Assist International quickly realized that virtual-based innovation would be necessary to reach providers in health systems in need. Information on the virus, and clinical knowledge on how to save patients was evolving quickly, and so we launched the “COVID-19 Tele-mentoring Series for Healthcare Providers.” Alongside our partners, we have created a comprehensive, interactive and locally relevant clinical telementoring program, covering topics ranging from infection prevention and control to critical case management, and equipment maintenance and repair.

The momentum and demand for these tele-mentoring programs continues to increase and we have recently launched 12 Learning Hubs, locally customized and presented by in-country experts. 

Find Out More

Introducing: Learning Hubs

In partnership with Stanford Global Anesthesia – Division of Global Health Equity and Project ECHO, we have launched 11 learning hubs across Sub-Saharan Africa and Latin America, focused on oxygen therapy and critical care medicine in the context of COVID-19.

These learning hubs are each led by clinical experts, customized to the local context, and include live interactive sessions designed around real-life clinical case based problem solving, taking courses created on the Learning Resource Center and making them available to their local networks.

Learn why Dr. Amos Zacharia joined our Learning Hubs as a Clinical Director for Tanzania.

FIND YOUR COURSE

Register Now!

Locate your timezone below and register for free to participate in one of our country-specific oxygen therapy and critical care programs, locally customized and presented by in-country experts.

The course platform hosts all of the course content, supplementary resources and recordings. Session topics include: (i) considerations for triage, (ii) diagnosing hypoxemia and pulse oximetry, (iii) referring patients to a Higher Level of Care, (iv) Critical Care Outside the ICU: Rapid Response Teams, (v) Basic Considerations for ICU Care, (vi) Defining ARDS, (vii) High Flow Nasal Cannula and Non-Invasive Positive Pressure, (viii) Considerations for Pediatric Patients, (ix) Considerations for Obstetric Patients, (x) Essential Emergency and Critical Care.

Zambia
7

ZAMBIA

Dr. Papytcho Ntambwe (concluded)

Third Thursday Of Each Month
3:30 CAT | 2:30 WAT | 4:30 EAT

Tanzania
Peter

TANZANIA

Dr. Peter Saria

Second Friday Of Each Month
3:00pm EAT | 2:00pm CAT | 1:00pm WAT

  • active
2
kaino

Dr. Amos Zacharia & Dr. Kaino Mwemezi (concluded)

Last Friday Of Each Month
3:00pm EAT | 2:00pm CAT | 1:00pm WAT

Rwanda
banguti

RWANDA

Prof. Paulin R. Banguti (concluded)

Last Wednesday Of Each Month
3:00pm EAT | 2:00pm CAT | 1:00pm WAT

33

Dr. Eugene Tuyishime

Last Saturday Of Each Month
8:00pm EAT | 7:00pm CAT | 6:00PM WAT

  • active
dr.-xavier

Dr Francois Xavier Uwimana

Every other Wednesday of each month
3:00pm EAT | 2:00pm CAT | 1:00pm WAT

  • active
Nigeria
4

NIGERIA

Dr. ALHASSAN DATTI MOHAMMED (concluded)

Fourth Thursday each month
3:00 PM WAT | 5:00 PM EAT | 4:00 PM CAT

Latin America
fr.echo
rubio

LATIN AMERICA

Dr. Fredy Ariza Cadena &
Dr. Rodrigo Rubio

Hora: 6: 00-7: 30 pm (Mexico y Colombia)
Duración de la sesión: 90 minutos
First Tuesday of each Month

  • active
Kenya
rach
kaino

KENYA

Dr. Rachael Kimani-Njiiri & Dr. Kaino Mwemezi

  • active

First Friday of each month
7pm EAT | 6pm CAT | 5pm WAT

Ethiopia
as2022

ETHIOPIA

Dr. Ananya Abate

  • active

Last Tuesday of each month
3:00pm EAT | 2:00pm CAT | 1:00pm WAT

lrc-logo

Global Anesthesia & Critical Care Learning Resource Center

A learning environment representing providers from variably-resourced practice settings, the mission of the Global Anesthesia and Critical Care Learning Resource Center is to improve equity in peri-operative healthcare access locally and across the globe through medical education, engaging discussions, remote mentorship, and building professional networks.

OUR IMPACT

Our tele-mentoring programs have reached a collective audience of 10,000 health care and biomedical engineering professionals in 128 countries around the world.
0
Countries engaged in our virtual tele-education programs
0 +
Learners reached through our virtual clinical & biomedical sessions

MADE POSSIBLE BY OUR PARTNERS:

  • "Empowering the workers with knowledge is what matters before we think of having equipment. Because we can have equipment that you don’t know how to use. …. Having these sessions running and reaching the far ends of the providences and rural areas where they are now able to identify a critical patient—this is what matters.”
    Dr. Papytcho Ntambwe Livingstone Central Hospital, Zambia.
  • "I would like to thank ECHO project for their support and help in the process of teaching and giving knowledge to thousands of caregivers around the world. ECHO project has made possible people who love teaching like me and many others, to find an effective way to give high quality education and help for low- and middle-income countries. I appreciate if you are interested to participate as a funder or partner of this great and valuable program, or simply be able to help us promote the program to your friends, or institutions that may be potential supporters."
    Dr. Fredy Ariza Cadena, MD., MSc., PhD(a). Anesthesia and Perioperative Medicine, Colombia.
  • “We started the oxygen series as a platform where our residents will stay in touch with our resources so we can keep teaching them despite COVID. With [Assist’s] initiative, we started this Zoom series. …our residents kept connected and they learned a lot during COVID… my co-directors… have been learning every day, they have been tasked and prepared to teach at the level where, now one of the co-directors is passing on to director, and even others are now confident ... We have kept the local resources and empowered them to be able to teach their peers and their friends. The impact in Rwanda is quite measurable…. It has been a solution.”

    Prof. Paulin R. Banguti University of Rwanda

Videos & Materials

Session Library

Access to the live-stream video recordings, PowerPoints, and additional materials from previous clinical and biomedical sessions.

COVID-19 Clinical Resources For Healthcare Providers

TREATMENT & CARE GUIDELINES

GENERAL CONSIDERATIONS FOR SPECIAL POPULATIONS (OBSTETRICS, PEDIATRICS, HIV)

CRITICAL CARE – GENERAL RESOURCES

CRITICAL CARE – RESPIRATORY CARE & VENTILATION

CRITICAL CARE – CARDIAC CARE

OXYGEN THERAPY IN THE CONTEXT OF COVID-19

PEDIATRIC

COVID-19 SPECIFIC GUIDELINES

    • LifeBox: Pulse Oximetry Decision Support Tool for COVID-19

OXYGEN THERAPY DEVICE MANAGEMENT

 PPE — GENERAL

PPE – INFECTION & CONTROL

DO IT YOURSELF PPE

CONSERVATION AND EXTENDED USE OF PPE

LIFEBOX RESOURCES ON N95 DECONTAMINATION & REUSE

RESOURCE PLANNING — GENERAL

RESOURCE PLANNING – OXYGEN THERAPY

CONTACT US

At Assist International, our goal is to do everything we can to help your clinical teams and hospitals share best practices and be prepared for the COVID-19 pandemic. Should you have any questions, please reach out to us at info@assistinternational.org

cham2020-2-scaled

Stay​ Informed

Join hundreds of other healthcare and biomedical engineer professionals. Subscribe to our mailing list to stay up-to-date on various tele-education courses.

Assist International provides life-giving solutions for children, families, and communities around the world that bring health, opportunity, and hope.